North Dakota has been designated by the FBI and the Department of Homeland Security as one of 15 U.S. states that has no immediate threat of terrorism. However, the state is still important to FBI operations. There are four resident agencies related to the Minneapolis Division in North Dakota, and they participate in protecting the rest of the country against terrorism and in apprehending criminals. North Dakota has mostly dealt with bank robberies in recent years.

Requirements for Becoming an FBI Special Agent in North Dakota

In North Dakota, there are skilled professionals and Special Agents, and all work in high risk environments that involve a lot of long hours and travel. Candidates wishing to become an FBI agent in North Dakota must:

1. Be a citizen of the U.S. or U.S. territory.
2. Be between the ages of 23 and 37 (although veterans may still be eligible).
3. Have at least a four year bachelor’s degree from an approved school.
4. Have at least three years of relevant work experience.
5. Having a valid U.S. drivers licence.
6. Passing and FBI background check.
7. Passing an FBI medical exam including vision and hearing tests.
8. Passing a drug test, and not having used illicit drugs in the past ten years.
9. Passing rigorous fitness testing.
10. Not have defaulted on student loans.
11. Having not committed a felony offence.
12. Having the ability and willingness to work anywhere in the FBI’s jurisdiction.
13. Specialise in one of their computer science, general science, cyber security, electrical or computer engineering or a foreign language (Farsi, Russian, Punjabi, Pashto, Urdu, Arabic, Korean, all dialects of Chinese, and Spanish will be favored), military, piloting, network administration, accounting, law, detective work, computer forensics, information technology or intelligence.

It can take between six months to a year for the hiring process to occur. Chosen candidate must go to Quantico, VA, to complete 20 weeks of new agent training. North Dakota Agents start on a GS 10 entry-level salary of $43,441, as well as a living adjustment 2.83% of the base wage.

Jobs in North Dakota’s Field Offices

North Dakota has four FBI satellite offices that can be found in:

This office overs cases in the Traill, Stutsman, Steele, Sargent, Richland, Ransom, McIntosh, Logan, LaMoure, Griggs, Foster, Dickey, Cass and Barnes counties of North Dakota and Clay County in Minnesota.

This office overs cases in the Stark, Slope, Sioux, Oliver, Morton, Mercer, Kidder, Hettinger, Grant, Golden Valley, Emmons, Dunn, Burleigh, Bowman, Billings and Adams counties of North Dakota.

This office overs cases in the Williams, Wells, Ward, Sheridan, Rolette, Renville, Pierce, Mountrail, McLean, McKenzie, McHenry, Divide, Burke and Bottineau counties of North Dakota.

Grand Forks
This office overs cases in the Walsh, Towner, Ramsey, Pembina, Nelson, Grand Forks, Eddy, Cavalier and Benson counties of North Dakota.